The process to obtain a marriage license is simple.
Is there a waiting period?
- Begin by completing the Marriage Kiosk Form at home.
- After completing the form online you will be given a number to provide the Clerk make sure to take note of this.
Both parties need to visit us at the office located at 339 East Macclenny Avenue, Macclenny FL 32063. Make sure both of you have the following:
- Drivers License, State ID, or Passport
- U.S. Citizens must provide their Social Security Number, non-citizens may providean Alien Registration Number issued by the Immigration and Naturalization Service
- Proof of age. Both parties must be at least 18 years old
- Payment of $86.00 or $61.00 if you are a Florida resident and have completed premarital counseling
- You will be provided with a marriage license
- Get married!
- After you are married you have 10 days to return the completed license to the office
- The Clerk will record the completed license and return to you 2 certified copies
- That's it, you're done.
Yes, Florida Statute 741.04(3) says the effective date shall be delayed 3 days from the date of application unless they provide a statement or a certificate of a premarital preparation course from a qualified provider registered with our office or both applicants are out of state residents.
How long is the Marriage License valid?
60 days from the date issued.
Do I have to apply in the county where I live?
No, you can obtain a license in any county in Florida regardless of which county you live in.
Who can perform marriage ceremonies?
May a marriage be solemnized without a license?
- All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel, elders in communion with a church, or other ordained clergy.
- All Judicial Officers, including retired Judicial Officers, Clerks of the Circuit Court, and Notary Publics of this State.
- "Quakers" and "Friends" may perform marriages in the manner and form used and practiced in their societies.
No. Florida Statute 741.08 states in part that the party solemnizing the marriage shall require a properly issued license before performing the ceremony, and within 10 days after the ceremony, he shall make a certificate thereof the license and shall transmit the same to the Clerk of the Circuit Court from which it was issued.
Can I get married at the Clerks Office?
No, the Clerks Office no longer performs marriage ceremonies.